Printable Version



"How the Story Ends", one of those rare tracks so achingly beautiful that the listener is laid out on a bed of melancholy... You'll understand once you hear it. It's an instant classic..."  - Jon Wilks, Editor, Timeout

Kev Gray: genius? Quite possibly.  - Jonty Davies, Editor, Seek Japan

"How the Story Ends" demonstrates lyrical genius, as well as undeniable instrumental gifts. Imagine, if you will, an encounter between Nick Drake and Antony Hegarty, and you might be somewhere close.  - Japanzine

...sings like Macartney, moans like Morrisey, writes likes Dylan Different Class Radio, London 2010

"Six Feet Under" is simply mesmeric. An audience of strangers suddenly synced in song - Japan Music Week 2010

 

How The Story Ends

Winner Japanzine Songwriting Competition 2008

ďA Lyrical GeniusĒ Ė Japanzine 2008

Pulled me right in

From the first note, I was pulled right in. What a great way to start a song. The story and theme are fascinating. I'm having trouble comparing it to anyone else it's so fresh sounding. This tune leaves little room for improvement.

Reviewed by: Ardy Michaels from Galena, Illinois

 

Fantastic

I only had to hear the first bar of this to know without any doubt that this singer is quite remarkable. A voice of high quality and professionalism with great diction and marvelous intonation. Making comparisons to other great singers is useless. The lyric is testimonial to what great songwriting is meant to be. It is a poetic marvel interwoven into a tight melody with an array of movement and color depicting absolute creativity only to be impacted with an amazing display of sensitive yet well determined and deliberate guitar playing all culminating to an accentuated conclusion of expertise, musicianship and undeniable professionalism.

Reviewed by: Henry Monzello from Hacienda Heights, California

 

Jordan River

#18 Americana Chart, Nov 2007

Best Potential Soundtrack overall, Nov 2007

Track Of The Week on 19Nov 2007 in Americana

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 13 Aug 2007

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 27 Aug 2007

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 5Nov 2007

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 12Nov 2007

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 19Nov 2007

Best Lyrics in Americana, week of 5Nov 2007

Best Lyrics in Americana, week of 19Nov 2007

Best Melody in Americana, week of 5Nov 2007

Best Melody in Americana, week of 19Nov 2007

Best Mood in Americana, week of 5Nov 2007

Best Mood in Americana, week of 12Nov 2007

Best Mood in Americana, week of 19Nov 2007

Potential Soundtrack overall, week of 5Nov 2007

Potential Soundtrack in Americana, week of 5Nov 2007

Wonderful!

First things first, beautiful voice, absolutely wonderful. In fact the more I listen to this, the more I love it. ÖThis is absolutely lovely, is it an original? The lyrics are great in an honest way and I love the unpolished production (sorry if I'm offending anyone). I just want to go to that river and get clean!

Whoever is making this music should be getting paid for it, best thing I've heard on this site by a mile, really is!

Reviewed by: DomVeron from United Kingdom

 

Enchanting, melodic spiritual

A calming, spiritual song sung with such heart and conviction. A classic track that should be heard by the masses .A velvety smooth lead vocal with crisp lyrics and close harmony accompanying. The mood was peaceful and calming and I just drifted off to the mountains with the 'barely there' instrumentation, just a hint of it and it worked. The vocal wasn't compromised. Memorable tune and very commercial melody, would suit film

Reviewed by: Liddybean from Southampton, Hampshire, United Kingdom

 

As Time Kept Hurting Me

Like watching a lazy creek

This song makes me feel like looking out the window and seeing a lazy summer day roll by. I can imagine this song appearing in a movie soundtrack

Reviewed by: Andrew Kasab; Cary, North Carolina

 

Fabulous

Everything about this is fabulous. Vocals, lyrics, guitar, the simplicity, the mood, the tone, just out of this world. Whoever you are, you have a mountain of talent. Keep going towards your destiny!

Reviewed by: pmf155 from Binghamton, New York

 

Yes, Lord

The mood is mysterious. The lyrics are well thought out.

Had to listen again to get the full advantages of the song.

One of the best at Garageband

Reviewed by: millskeith from Houston, Texas

 

Best Male Vocals in Folk, week of 5Nov 2007

Best Male Vocals in Folk, week of 12Nov 2007

Best Male Vocals in Folk, week of 19Nov 2007

Best Male Vocals in Folk, week of 26Nov 2007

Best Male Vocals in Folk, week of 3 Dec 2007

Best Guitars in Folk, week of 12Nov 2007

Best Guitars in Folk, week of 19Nov 2007

Best Lyrics in Folk, week of 5Nov 2007

Best Lyrics in Folk, week of 12Nov 2007

Best Lyrics in Folk, week of 19Nov 2007

Best Lyrics in Folk, week of 26Nov 2007

Best Melody in Folk, week of 26Nov 2007

Best Beat in Folk, week of 26Nov 2007

Best Mood in Folk, week of 12Nov 2007

Best Mood in Folk, week of 26Nov 2007

Most Original in Folk, week of 26Nov 2007

Feel Good Track in Folk, week of 12Nov 2007

 

Little Bruised Apples

 

Just what Garageband needed

Can feel the classic touch in the recording quality and the vocalist. The story your telling is really good. Got some good meanings here. The guitar strumming is really interesting with the upstrums and stops. Good finger work. You put a lot of feel in this one. Great female back ups made it sooo sweet and even sexy. Tasty treat loving it all the way through.

Reviewed by: glowtrash from Munford, Tennessee

Incredible

From the beginning of this song, I could tell this person's voice was incredible, If I would guess, I would say they have had some classical voice training. The vocals are so sweet, and the guitar goes along so well with beautiful voice. I wish there were some more instruments involved just to give that extra bit to the song and really make it stand out even more than it already is. This is really great song.

Definitely the best song I've heard on GB so far. The lyrics are also wonderful. The female vocals were also incredible.

I'm definitely going to download this song.

Reviewed by: liveforthekoa from Bourbonnais, Illinois

 

Best Male Vocals in Acoustic, week of 17 Sep 2007

Best Guitars in Acoustic, week of 17 Sep 2007

Best Lyrics in Acoustic, week of 24 Sep 2007

Potential Soundtrack in Acoustic, week of 17 Sep 2007

 

Bald Headed Blues

#18 Chill-Out Track in Acoustic, all-time

#36 Acoustic Charts

Best Mood in Acoustic, week of 31 Dec 2007

 

Chill Beauty

I feel like I should be on the beach! This is beautiful & very chill. The melody rocks. The mood... it's perfect afternoon music or beach music. I definitely want to download this song

Reviewed by: loveandsunshine from Woodside, California

 

Gene Therapy

Best Male Vocals in Acoustic, week of 17 Dec 2007

Great

The band has required mood only.

I find this artist to be of excellent quality. A wonderful voice wrapped in emotion and touching warmth. However, the lyric writing skills of this artist is phenomenal. Coupled with intuitive melody construction, there is nothing but greatness in this songwriter and performer.

The mood is nothing short of marvelous intoxication.

Reviewed by: Henry Monzello from Hacienda Heights, California

 

Your Voice BOOM!

I absolutely love this song. Your voice is so incredible and original. Reminds me of an old songs from the mid 1900's...and did I mention your lyrics? Wow.

Reviewed by: Sam Hall Bismarck, North Dakota

 

Aquarius

#51 Alternative Pop Charts

Best Male Vocals in Alternative Pop, week of 8 Oct 2007

Best Guitars in Alternative Pop, week of 1 Oct 2007

Best Lyrics in Alternative Pop, week of 24 Dec 2007

Just great

Wow, your vocals remind me of Jeff Buckley, you're singing very confident and expressive, and the guitar strumming is great. Guitar recording is very present and the listener can feel every nuance of your song. The chord progression is also great. It sounds like much thought had gone into just figuring out what to play on the guitar. There are not so many songs today that are interesting in a term of good vocal and nice melody and chord progression. Today everyone adds only sonic interest to the most obvious melody and chord progression and they are adding additional interest by making lot's of breaks and bridges in the song. This one is not like that. This one is simple and good, It made me want to try to learn how to play it and sing...And that's just great.

Reviewed by: Zock, Prigorje Brdovecko, Croatia

 

Donít Kill The Man You Love

Best Male Vocals in Alternative Pop, week of 28 Jan 2008

Best Male Vocals in Alternative Pop, week of 4 Feb 2008

Best Lyrics in Alternative Pop, week of 21 Jan 2008

Best Melody in Alternative Pop, week of 28 Jan 2008

Best Melody in Alternative Pop, week of 4 Feb 2008

Great

I like this song and the vocal is as sweet as can be with a strong delivery good tone and good presence. The guitar playing is just about as good as can get with a perfect accompaniment value and he sings a melody that is stuffed with feelings and good vibes.

The lyrics walk around the song like royalty and this artist has already impressed me before with solid singing, lyric writing, guitar playing, and performance value.

Reviewed by: Henry Monzello from Hacienda Heights, California

 

Guatemala

Harry Connick Jr meets Elvis...Sweet!

First, this piece is exceptional! In the immortal words of Siskel and Ebert, Two thumbs up. The style of guitar gives evidence of an artist having the ability to make complex sound simple. That is no small feat. The lyrics are catchy, and the vocals...What can I say, I will let the title of this review make the statement. This song just sounds fun to hear.

Reviewed by: Rexrambler from Poplar Bluff, Missouri

#47 American Charts, Aug 2007

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 30 Jul 2007

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 6 Aug 2007

Best Guitars in Americana, week of 6 Aug 2007

Best Melody in Americana, week of 6 Aug 2007

Best Mood in Americana, week of 6 Aug 2007

Best Mood in Americana, week of 13 Aug 2007

Best Love Song overall, week of 6 Aug 2007

Best Love Song in Americana, week of 6 Aug 2007

 

Hemlock, Rope or Cyanide

You know youíre good donít you?

Man, this is a captivating song. Everything about this song is so damn brilliant.

I loved every second of this song! I mean that!

Reviewed by: Indiana Joe from Richmond, Indiana

Best Male Vocals in Folk Rock, week of 17 Sep 2007

Best Guitars in Folk Rock, week of 17 Sep 2007

Best Lyrics in Folk Rock, week of 17 Sep 2007

Best Melody in Folk Rock, week of 17 Sep 2007

Best Mood in Folk Rock, week of 17 Sep 2007

Feel Good Track in Folk Rock, week of 17 Sep 2007

 

Laissez-Faire

Wonderful melody

I just cant help but to crack a grin... this melody is infectious, and I feel a fevered smirk now at the "Iíll sleep with your friends" line.

Great tune.

Reviewed by: Habana Green, Pensacola, Florida

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 22 Sep 2008

Best Mood in Americana, week of 18 Aug 2008

Best Mood in Americana, week of 22 Sep 2008

 

Mississippi

#46 American Charts

Great voice.

Great spiritual song. A heartfelt performance. Simple and pure with beautiful vocals. Itís rare to stumble upon this kind of music on a site like this. Thanks!

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 3 Sep 2007

Best Melody in Americana, week of 3 Sep 2007

Best Mood in Americana, week of 20 Aug 2007

Best Mood in Americana, week of 3 Sep 2007

 

The Mountain (As I Lay Dying)

Best Male Vocals in Americana, week of 1 Oct 2007

Best Melody in Americana, week of 1 Oct 2007

Spot-on perfect

Very unique song. I think the voice at times sounds like the "king"...That's right Elvis!!! You know this song almost has a Gospel feel to it??? Really nice acoustic guitar playing. It is so hard to keep a song interesting enough for me usually with just a voice and a guitar...Not here...The melody is so damn groovy...along with the nice guitar work ,that it was an easy listen. The harmony that comes in towards the second part of the song was a nice addition too, I mean what could be better then one great vocal??? Add another!!!! Brilliant.

Reviewed by: Braam Music from Chicago, Illinois

 

Quietly Apocalyptic

Quiet acoustic strumming opens this tune, in which a young man dreams that even though he has done good deeds, he's afraid he's going to be shut out of life. The vaguely Biblical imagery reminds me a little of The Band's "Daniel And The Sacred Harp" and maybe even the old spiritual, "Trials, Troubles, Tribulations." The singer is told he must "Go down from the mountain." It is left to the listener to decide whether this is good advice.

I do wish greater use was made of the pretty harmony vocals that appear all too briefly in the middle of the song.

Reviewed by: Dave Erickson,Asheville, North Carolina

 

Walter Mitty

Lovely.

Ok, it might be the drinks I had earlier but I really really loved this. Really low key and delicate with some lovely chords and a really moving little melody. I love the vocals; they remind me a little of John Martyn. The track as a whole calls to mind British band Elbow. Lovely lyrics as well. Lovely seems to be the word for the day.

I think this might be my favourite track I've heard on GB so far.

Reviewed by: Johnnywas from London, United Kingdom

 

Blooooooo...

Sustaining the first note...I like that...inventive. It leads into a kind of standard sounding guitar figure, but the recording is beautiful...like this Jeff Buckley clone and his voice...excellent...the lyrics are actually pretty good, which is more than I can say of the late great J.B. Maybe he and Nick Drake had a kid when Jeff Buckley was 10 and he is you. Love the minimalist approach to this song

Reviewed by: LeifAdams from Salem, Oregon

 

Best Male Vocals in Alternative Pop, week of 27 Aug 2007

Best Male Vocals in Alternative Pop, week of 3 Sep 2007

Best Guitars in Alternative Pop, week of 27 Aug 2007

Chill-Out Track overall, week of 27 Aug 2007

Chill-Out Track in Alternative Pop, week of 27 Aug 2007

 

Wild Wind

Beautiful Guitar Duet-Retro Cool

What a great chill song.

It feels like a soundtrack to something. Quentin Tarrentino would play this in the background of some gory fight scene because it would create the sort of juxtaposition that he bases his whole storytelling method around.

Great song!

Reviewed by: birdbath from Livonia, Michigan

 

I wish I had written this!

First of all, I'm so downloading this if it's available! The guitars sound great, the lead singer's voice is very warm and gentle and I love the style of songwriting, mixing metaphor with matter-of-fact statement.

I wouldn't suggest changing this recording at all. Although some reviewers might suggest re-recording in a proper studio (if this was done at home) and adding more instruments, but that would simply detract from the mood of the song and strip it of the context within which it was recorded/written.

Reviewed by: arranarctic from Portrush, United Kingdom


Home Reviews Lyrics Contact